Advisory Committee

ACOM Chair: Mark Dickey-Collas - e-mail

ACOM Vice-Chair Colm Lordan - e-mail

ACOM Vice-Chair: Eugene Nixon - e-mail

ACOM Vice-Chair: Ghislain Chouinarde-m​ail​

ACOM Vice-Chair: Henn Ojaveer - e-mail

The Advisory Committee (ACOM) translates ICES science into advice on the sustainable use and protection of marine ecosystems.


ACOM responds to requests for advice from ICES member countries, international commissions and organizations, and fisheries and ecosystem management bodies.

ACOM provides advice to our clients while ensuring quality, transparency, and legitimacy. The advice is based on the precautionary principle and the ecosystem approach, conforming to the management objectives of those authorities. When such objectives are absent or unclear, the advice follows ICES own frameworks. ACOM also provides the evidence to explore the consequences of trade-offs between objectives.

The committee works with stakeholders to ensure that the advice is understandable and relevant to society.

The leadership of ACOM consists of a Chair and four Vice-Chairs. The committee is composed of one representative from each of our member countries. ​


Print this pagePrint it Request newsletterSend to Post to Facebook Post to Twitter Post to LinkedIn Share it
c FollowFollow Focus on ContentFocus on Content
HelpGive Feedback


International Council for the Exploration of the Sea (ICES) · Conseil International pour l'Exploration de la Mer (CIEM)
ICES Secretariat · H. C. Andersens Boulevard 44-46, DK 1553 Copenhagen V, Denmark · Tel: +45 3338 6700 · Fax: +45 3393 4215 ·
Disclaimer Privacy policy · © ICES - All Rights Reserved