Advisory process

ICES ecoregions and advisory areas

Our advice is divided by ecoregions, allowing for further development of an ecosystem approach in European waters.

​​​For each ecoregion the advice includes an ecosystem overview, which provides a description of the ecosystem components and the major ecological events and trends. 

The ecoregions are based on biogeographic and oceanographic features and existing political, social, economic, and management divisions:

  • Arctic Ocean
  • Greenland Sea
  • Norwegian Sea
  • Barents Sea
  • Icelandic Waters
  • Faroes
  • Celtic Seas
  • Greater North Sea
  • Baltic Sea
  • Oceanic Northeast Atlantic
  • Azores
  • Bay of Biscay and the Iberian Coast
  • Western Mediterranean Sea
  • Ionian Sea and the Central Mediterranean Sea
  • Adriatic Sea
  • Aegean-Levantine Sea
  • Black Sea


Print this pagePrint it Request newsletterSend to Post to Facebook Post to Twitter Post to LinkedIn Share it

​ICES ecoregions. Click to enlarge.

c FollowFollow Focus on ContentFocus on Content
HelpGive Feedback

ICES ecoregions and advisory areas

International Council for the Exploration of the Sea (ICES) · Conseil International pour l'Exploration de la Mer (CIEM)
ICES Secretariat · H. C. Andersens Boulevard 44-46, DK 1553 Copenhagen V, Denmark · Tel: +45 3338 6700 · Fax: +45 3393 4215 ·
Disclaimer Privacy policy · © ICES - All Rights Reserved